4 o'clock coffee

missional living

is Satan real?

Dowd opens up Chapter 10 with the following statements:

“From a science-based, evolutionary perspective, there is no place for belief in a literal Satan…Nevertheless, personalizing or rationalizing the forces of evil – especially those within us – can be helpful, whether or not we choose to use the words Satan or Devil” (169)

For those of you who have been reading my blog about this book know how frustrating it has been for me. But the frustration is no more! As I read this, I thought of one of the quotes I read;

“Dowd offers us an impassioned vision…and indeed make sense of, traditional religious orientations, while leaving plenty of room for readers not comfortable with God language.”

When I first read the critic above, I thought of how great this was for a Christian to be portraying the Gospel to such a wide audience demographic. But I was wrong.

After I read the first quote from Dowd’s book, God began to speak to me. He told me that Dowd isn’t using worldly language to express the Truth of the Gospel, but is instead using christian language to express a worldly lie. I thought, wow, what an incredible word…then I continued reading.

Dowd’s Gospel

“It is, rather, faith in him[Jesus] (i.e., trust in the values he incarnated, the integrity he enfleshed).” (184) *boldness added

“Getting real with oneself and others, owning the painful truths about one’s life, and grasping the comforting truth that God loves us anyway.” (186)

No matter your religion or philosophy, making a commitment to grow in deep integrity will offer you much the same experience as those who have repented of their sins and asked Jesus to be their personal Lord and Savior” (195)

If you are wholeheartedly committed to growing in deep integrity and have no resentment, no guilt, no shame, no regrets, and no unfinished business, you are saved no matter what your religion or philosophy.” (197)

Given what we now know about deep-time creativity and grace, we can no longer in good conscience continue interpreting the story of Jesus’ birth, life, teachings, passion, death, and resurrection as primarily having to do with saving a select group of human beings from the fires of a literal hell when they die.” (202)

These are all false Gospels. The first quote puts our faith in the morals of Jesus instead of Jesus, Himself. The second never implies God’s holy wrath against sin at the cross. And the last three discredit Jesus as the only way to the Father.

You see, I think what upset me the most while reading this book was that it was widely accepted by all. But the Spirit began to remind me that,

John 15:18 and 1 Peter 2:4-5 which talk of Jesus and us being rejected by men.

You see, it became clear to me that many accepted this book in celebration because it isn’t Truth.

Jesus prayed in John 17:15 that we would be indwelt in our culture. So how do we be in the world without being of the world?

Well, foremost it is standing on the truth of scripture for who it reveals: Jesus. Next, it is being active in the world around us while offering Hope. I look to Jesus and notice how He asked so many questions to those around him. What if we did the same?

Believers:

Is your hold on scripture, Jesus, and the gospel loose or firm?

Are your actions in the culture around you involved or withdrawn?

How do you pray for the unrepentant sinners you have close relationships with?

Do you have close relationships with unrepentant sinners?

Everybody Else:

What are your passions?

Who do you say that Jesus is/was?

Who/what is your God?

Where do gaps form in the Gospel of Jesus (That we are sinners from birth, separated from God. God sent Himself, Jesus, to die the death we should have died and live the life we cannot live. That upon acceptance of this Truth, Jesus pays for our sins and we are in right standing with God)

Does Buddha solve the problems that Jesus can’t for a good life?

Did Jesus die so that Buddha could be in right standing with the God?

Do you have any suggestions of how a local church could serve you?

Jesus, thank you for Michael Dowd. Thank you for creating in us a desire to seek an Ultimate Truth. Thank you for being the satisfaction to that desire. I pray that we as Christians would earnestly seek You and how we can spread the Good News of sinners’ salvation and Your glory. I pray that as unrepentant sinners read this blog and hear your Gospel preached and displayed in the world around them, that Your Spirit would draw them to Yourself. I love you and do a great work in me. -Amen

January 4, 2010 - Posted by | Thank God for Evolution by Michael Dowd

2 Comments »

  1. NC77, I agree. I greatly appreciate you sharing 1 John 4:1-6. One concern I have in writing about spiritual things is that it can become a bashing of hypocritical Christians or false prophets. But I know that when the comments focus on Jesus in scripture, that we are on the right track. Don’t lose your focus.
    Thanks for the comment!

    Comment by bdb0811 | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. I haven’t read Dowd’s book, but I can’t help but think that he is one of the many I see in this day and age blurring the lines of Christianity. Their strategy is clear. They hold themselves out as new prophets and pastors of a new emerging theology, yet question the veracity of the traditional and historical interpretations of God’s word.

    It’s a strategy that works though. After all, didn’t the serpent use that strategy on Eve to deceive her? i.e., “did God really say you shall not eat of any tree in the garden?”

    One scripture I find useful for separating the wheat from the tares is 1 John 4:1-6.

    Comment by NC77 | January 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment